Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB

of the Charterhouse boys, who are doubtless lovers of what they believe to be true, let it be observed that this play was written and performed when the sources of authentic history were carefully sealed up, and the falsehoods of each pretended historian were copied and recopied, until they appeared to be well-attested facts. We feel sure that to-day no Charterhouse boy above the class of "the petties" would believe that the Pope approved of the Gunpowder Plot, or that the Jesuits were in the slightest degree to blame in the matter.'

To continue our narrative. For over two hundred and sixty years Sutton's Hospital, with both pensioners and scholars, occupied the "late dissolved Charterhouse." Throughout this long period four tables were daily spread in what was in monastic times the guests' dining hall, enlarged by adding to it the Fratry or Refectory of the monks. One table was for the officers of Sutton's Hospital, one for the poor brethren, another for the boys, and, lastly, one for the servants. It was good Thomas Sutton's intention that all should worship and dine together. As to the worship, morning and evening prayer have always-except perhaps during the Commonwealth-been said in the chapel. The

1 Father John Morris, S.J., published in 1872 a complete history of the Gunpowder Plot in The Condition of Catholics under James I. This work is out of print; but many interesting details may be found in his Life of Father John Gerard (Burns and Oates, 1881).

REMOVAL OF THE SCHOOL.

265

attendance, moreover, has generally been pretty regular. At one time, indeed, it was deemed necessary to impose a fine of one shilling upon the pensioners for each non-attendance at chapel or in the dining hall. But there was in reality very little to complain of, and this penal law was never enforced. Mr. Locker's remarks on this subject are too severe.1

In 1872 a considerable change was made by the removal of Charterhouse School into the country, where the Public School Commissioners considered that it "would thrive much better."2 "Such a change," says the present head-master, "had come over the neighbourhood of the school, that even those who had been educated in it began to withdraw from it. They regarded it indeed with that strong attachment which generally binds Englishmen to the schools in which they have been trained, and declared that they would do anything for it except send their boys to it." This was on account of the blocks of houses which, as London went on increasing, were built up to the very walls of the playground. So in 1872 the boys went away. Their beautiful new school at Godalming is called Charterhouse in memory of the old place.

Yet the remains of our monastery are not wholly freed from the sound of youthful voices; for before 1 Old and New London, vol. ii. p. 398. 2 Report for 1864. 3 Charterhouse Past and Present, p. 170.

Sutton's School was gone, the governors had sold a portion of the property to the Merchant Taylors' Company, whose premises in Suffolk Lane were not spacious enough for the development of their school. The Merchant Taylors' boys, five hundred in number, mostly day scholars, are now being educated at the Charterhouse. The quadrangle of the monks' cloister is their playground.

All the ancient buildings are still the property of the governors of Sutton's Hospital, and without an Act of Parliament they can neither be alienated nor destroyed. A scheme was lately mooted for the sale, for building purposes, of at least a portion of the land, including all the modern buildings. The monastic remains would also have been in danger had not Parliament happily refused to pass the Bill. It was thought that the ancient buildings ought to be preserved untouched, and that it was not advisable to cover the open space with warehouses.

In the passing at some future date of a Bill to allow the governors to part with the Charterhouse, but forbidding at the same time the destruction of the old buildings, lies the only hope of seeing the Church of the Carthusian martyrs restored to Catholic worship. The Charterhouse could never again be a Carthusian monastery, for Carthusians do not live in crowded towns; but the Christian sacrifice might still be offered upon the very spot whereon Blessed John Houghton stood on the memorable

A GLEAM OF HOPE.

267

morning of the Missa de Spiritu Sancto. The restoration of an ancient chapel to its former use has recently been seen at Ely Place, not far from the Charterhouse. May we not hope that, sooner or later, the Carthusian Church of the Salutation of Our Lady may become the Chapel of the blessed martyrs who used to worship there?

CHAPTER III.

A PILGRIMAGE TO THE CHARTERHOUSE.

It is difficult to realize that we are still in the very heart of the chief town of the commercial world;' for, as we approach the Charterhouse, the din of the London thoroughfares is abated into a confused monotonous rolling like the grumbling of a distant storm. The spirit of the silent monks seems to haunt their ancient dwelling.

Shutting our eyes to adjacent buildings eighteenth-century work-let us glance for a moment at the gateway before us. From an architectural point of view it is very simple, consisting of an arch of the fifteenth century, with drip-stone terminating in plain corbels. This was the Carthusian monks' entrance, and under it still hang the gates they placed there. In monastic times these gates were generally closed, though ever and anon the wicket was thrown open by the lay brother whose business. it was to feed the poor and to usher in the guests. Through this gateway the monks came forth week

« AnteriorContinuar »