Imágenes de páginas

solemnity in the Church of the Charterhouse; the king and his children, together with several distinguished prelates and barons, being present.

By his will, dated St. Andrew's Day, 1371, Sir Walter bequeathed to the monastery an old standing debt of one thousand pounds, due to him from the king, and one-half of the arrears of his salary of one hundred pounds per annum as governor of Hardelagh Castle. The knight's tomb, which was erected in the middle of the choir, resembled that of Sir John Beauchamp in St. Paul's Cathedral. In Dugdale's History of St. Paul's there is an engraving of Sir John's monument, which was an altar-tomb supporting the recumbent effigy of the knight in armour, with escutcheons of the family on the sides.1

Sir Walter de Manny's son-in-law, John Hastings, Earl of Pembroke, who died on the 16th of April, 1375, left the sum of six hundred pounds to the Charterhouse. This noble benefactor was born in 1347. Previous to his marriage with Anne de Manny, he had espoused Margaret, daughter of Edward III., from whom, on account of some impediment, he obtained a divorce. "He was an active commander in the French wars, and Lieutenant of Aquitaine ; but, in attempting to relieve La Rochelle by sea, his fleet was burned by the Spaniards, and himself carried prisoner into Spain, where he suffered four Smythe's Historical Account of Charterhouse, p. 49.


[blocks in formation]

years' rigorous confinement. After his release he went to Paris, where he soon fell sick, as supposed by poison, and died on the road to Calais, April 16, in the forty-ninth year of Edward III. He was buried first in the church of the Friars Preachers, at Hereford, but was afterwards removed to the Grey Friars, near Newgate, London." 1

In May, 1378, a grant was made from the Hospital of St. John of Jerusalem, close to the Charterhouse, "to the Prior and Convent of the House of the Salutation of the Mother of God," of four acres of land contiguous to the former possessions of the Charterhouse. This grant was confirmed by Richard II. The king himself shortly after became a benefactor of our Charterhouse, by bestowing upon it the sum of fifty marks per annum.3

In the same year the executors of Felicia de Thymelby presented to "John [Luscote], Prior, and the Convent of the House of the Salutation of the Mother of God," the sum of two hundred and sixty marks, for the building of a cell, with a suitable portion of cloister and garden, and for the maintenance of a monk to live therein, and to pray and celebrate masses for the souls of Thomas Aubrey, of Felicia his wife, and of all the faithful departed.

Smythe's Historical Account of Charterhouse, p. 50; quoting Dugdale's Baronage, i., 576.


Register of St. John's, preserved in the British Museum. 8 Malcolm's Lond. Redivivum.

A daily Mass, and a special collect in every Office of the Dead, were also granted to these benefactors and their friends.1

A Bull of Pope Urban VI., dated at Rome on the 12th of December, 1378, confirmed to the Charterhouse its temporal resources. From this Bull, which is placed in our Appendix,' we learn that Sir Walter de Manny had originally intended to found a chantry with twelve chaplains, and that before its establishment he changed his mind and founded, conjointly with Bishop Michael de Northburgh, a double convent of Carthusian monks.

In order to observe as far as practicable chronological order, the story of Father Robert Palmer must be inserted here. Though this story seems to relate more directly to the foundation of St. Anne's Charterhouse, near Coventry, his vocation and work deserve to be looked upon as a part of the history of the London Charterhouse; for he was a professed monk of the latter monastery, and for some time he performed, under Prior Luscote, the office of Procurator. An ancient document regarding the foundation at Coventry mentions Robert Palmer as Procurator of the London Charterhouse, and originator of the new foundation; but the following details have not hitherto been published.



1 Madox, Formulare Anglicanum, p. 267.

Infra, Appendix iii.

Dugdale's Monasticon (Ellis), vol. vi. p. 16.




They are taken from a Latin manuscript in the archives of our Order.1


"During the reign of King Wenceslaus there was in England a certain parish priest named Robert [Palmer]. He was a simple, upright, Godfearing man. In company with another priest he made a pilgrimage to the Holy Land, where, after visiting the stations of Our Saviour's Passion, he intended to remain for the rest of his life. He therefore besought the Lord to guide his steps to some lonely spot where he could serve Him devoutly and in peace." The manuscript goes on to tell how, while saying Mass at the Holy Sepulchre, he heard a voice informing him that it was God's will for him to return to England and to enter the Carthusian Order; "for," said the mysterious voice, “that Order is the surest path to everlasting life, and the most pleasing to God." Feeling sure that these words, which were spoken in English-a language with which none of the bystanders were acquainted -were the answer to his earnest prayer, the pious priest returned to his Church at Coventry, there to await some further manifestation of the Divine will. Nor was he kept long in suspense, for a certain place, within the limits of the very parish of which he was pastor, was pointed out to him in a

1 Le Vasseur, Ephemerides Cartusienses, die xv Junii; quoting from a certain Dom John Broeyres of the Charterhouse of Brussels. 2 Wenceslaus, Emperor of Germany, 1378-1400.

vision as the site of a Charterhouse which he was to build, and of which he would eventually become the Prior. Robert, who was remarkable for his great simplicity, repaired without delay to the field shown him in the vision, and began to mark out with his spade the length and breadth of a great cloister suitable to the dimensions of the site. On being remonstrated with by the peasants with whose property he was taking such liberties, he simply replied: "The earth is the Lord's and the fulness thereof, and He has commanded me to erect a monastery in this place." The peasants were neither inclined to relinquish their property, nor to oppose the designs of their pastor, whom they knew to be an honest and truly religious man. They therefore decided on having recourse to King Richard II., who was personally acquainted with Robert Palmer and aware of his goodness.

[ocr errors]

Robert was soon summoned to appear before the king's court upon a charge of having presumed by his own authority to dig in another man's field. No sooner was he ushered into the royal presence, than, with his wonted simplicity, he began to plead the cause of the projected foundation, and to beg his Majesty to aid him in the good work. Robert had quite forgotten that he was summoned as a delinquent, and with fervour he recounted his vision to the king. It might be doubted whether Robert was, on this occasion, so simple as he seemed.

« AnteriorContinuar »