« AnteriorContinuar »
House would grant him power to appoint six butchers out of the city, or otherwise out of the county, to slaughter and kill victual towards the maintenance of the citizens and others that might in that season be billeted in the city.
1641, March 24, Chester. Copy of a letter by the Mayor of Chester to Sir Thomas Smythe and Mr. Francis Gamull
, sending a list of all such as have taken the Protestation within the city of Chester; none, to their knowledge, having refused. 1642, July 2. H. Rigby to the Mayor of Chester, advising
. him to look after a prisoner in the Northgate, charged with having stolen a mare, because he had “an art to dissolve anie boltes laid on him.”
N. d. Copy of petition to the Right Honourable Court of Parliament, of the nobility, knights, gentry, and freeholders of the County Palatine of Chester, whose names are subscribed. (The names are not copied. The petition is in favour of episcopal government in the Church.)
N. d. Copy of a petition intended to have been presented to His Majesty for the fortification of Chester.
1648, Feb. 23, Goldsmiths' Hall. The Committee for compounding with delinquents to the Committee and Sequestrators for the County of Chester. Robert Tatton of Wilhenshaw, county Chester, has submitted to a fine, and paid and secured the same according to order. They are to forbear all further proceedings in the sequestration of the estate of the said R. Tatton. If further estate is discovered, the same is to be sequestered until compounded for. Directions concerning the estate. The particulars of Tatton's estate.
1688, Dec. 19, Chester Castle. The Earl of Derby to the Duke of Ormonde. Sends enclosed the desire of the gentlemen who were officers in that garrison to have laid down their arms on sight of the King's letter to Lord Feversham....He continues the restraint, being all Roman Catholics, until he receives directions. Their case is hard ; he does not hear of any in their circumstances being detained. Has written to Lord Churchill much to the same purpose. Asks favour for Sir Edward Byron, who has just come in.
TO THE EDITOR OF THE ARCHAEOLOGIA CAMBRENSIS.
From “ The Antiquary”, Sept. 1883, p. 130. SIR-A writer in the North Wales Chronicle says “ The following has been found in Rhiwia Farm, Aber, near the other milestone. It was erected to commemorate the two Emperors, Lucius Septimus Severus and Marcus Aurelius Antonius, ACCVVI. Is there a local secretary for Carnarvonshire ? If there is, why has he not forwarded this intelligence to the Rev. R. Trevor Owen of Llangedwyn, Oswestry, the General Secretary for North Wales, so that further inquiry might be made about what appears to be a discovery of great interest. I am, Sir, yours obediently,
B. L. E.
SIR, -The following brief notice may be acceptable to some of our younger friends, and more particularly to such as were so cordially entertained at the Castle during the late meeting of the Society at Fishguard.--I am, Sir, yours faithfully,
Amicus. “Newport, called also in Welsh · Trefdraeth', and in Latin Novum Burgum', is situated at the mouth of the river Nevern, in the county of Pembroke, and is the principal town of the Barony of Kemes, this latter being a feudal tenure of a most peculiar character, the last and only Lordship Marcher now in the kingdom.
“ The feudal Barony of Kemes is co-extensive with the modern hundred of that name, and embraces within its limits twenty-five parishes, is divided into several manors and lordships, and measures in circumference some sixty miles.
“Kemes was erected into a Lordship Marcher by Martin de Tours, one of the principal companions in arms of William the Conqueror, who obtained it by conquest from the Welsh. Martin and his descendants, the Lords of Kemes, sat in Parliament for several generations as Peers of the Realm by tenure, the same as the Lords Berkeley and Arundel; and also by writs of summons in the reigns of Henry III, Edward I, II, and III.
“ These noblemen enjoyed several peculiar privileges as Lords Marchers, of which a few are still exercised by their descendant aud representative, Sir Marteine Owen Moubray Lloyd of Bronwydd, the twenty-fourth Lord of the Barony of Kemes, who still holds his Baronial Courts, and yearly exercises the unique privilege of appointing the Mayor of Newport. They also enjoyed the privilege
of giving the silver harp as a prize at the Eisteddfodau or meetings of the Bards, and in their absence the Abbots of Saint Dogmaels presided.
“Robert, eldest son of Martin de Tours, founded the Abbey of Saint Dogmaels near Cardigan, which he endowed with lands; and his son William, as Lord Marcher, granted a charter of incorporation to the Burgesses of Newport, which is still in force and recognised by the Courts of Westminster.
“Immediately behind the town of Newport rises the lofty and picturesque mountain of Carn Ingli, called also Mons Angelorum, in reference to a tradition that a Saint of the fourth century-Saint Brynach, who resided there, was favoured by a visitation of Angels.
As an illustration how old customs are perpetuated throngh the lapse of centuries, it may be mentioned that in one of the parishes within this Barony, that of White Church, the game of chess was extensively played by the labouring classes down to the last century, having learnt it, no doubt, from the Norman invaders of the country.
“There still exist the remains of the ancient castle of Newport, consisting of a tower, quite entire, and late repairs and additions have been made to render this hoary witness of antiquity habitable.
“The castle was first erected by Martin de Tours, and partially rebuilt by William Martin in the reign of Edward I.
“Immediately under the Castle stands the tower of the Old Church, the advowson of which is in the gift of the Lord of the Barony.
Cambrian Archaeological Association.
THE THIRTY-EIGHTH ANNUAL MEETING
WAS HELD AT
MONDAY, AUGUST 13Ty, 1883,
AND FOLLOWING DAYS.
The arrangements were under the management of the following
HUGH LLWYD HARRIES, Esq., Cefnydre, CHAIRMAN.
HUGH OWEN, Esq., Goodwick, VICE-CHAIRMAN.
H. J. Thomas, Esq., Lochturffin
Theo. Thomas, Esq., Trehale The Dean and Chapter of St. David's J. Marychurch, Esq., Longhouse J. B. Bowen, Esq., Llwyngwair Rev. J. Lewis, Llanrhian Vicarage J. Worthington, Esq., Glynymel Dr. Williams, Trearched Rev. W. Rowlands, Vicarage, Fish. Rev. D. L. Jones, Mathry Vicarage guard
Rev. D. Morgan, Rectory, St. Nicholas Miss Schaw-Protheroe, Brynteg Rev. Arthur H. Richardson, St. DogMiss Bowen, Cotham, Newport
well's Vicarage Rev. J. C. Mortimer, Court
Rev. J. Williams, Dinas Rectory D. Williams, Esq., Drim
Rev. E. Jones, Newport Rectory Colonel Owen, Rosebush
Dr. Havard, Newport W. Williams, Esq., Drim
Rev. Mr. Morris, Independent Minister C. Matthias, Esq., Lamphey Court Capt. Richardson, Fishguard The Archdeacon of St. David's G. V. Bowen, Esq., Fynondrudion Rev. A. M. Mathew, Stonehall J. C. Davies, Esq., Railway House Capt. Edwardes, Sealyham
W. Bennett, Esq., Castle Hill Capt. Edwardes, Tyrhos
Rev. Rees Williams, Whitchurch Vi. Rev. P. Phelps, Ambleston Vicarage carage Rev. T. Johns, Manorowen
Morgan Owen, Esq., Brynymor Rev. J. Bowen, St. Lawrence
Hugh Mortimer, Esq., Tower Hill W. P. Williams, Esq., Trehowel Mr. W. Vaughan, Fishguard F. Lloyd Philipps, Esq., Penty Park Capt. Williams, Fishguard John Owen, Esq., Surgeon, Brynymor Capt. Titus Evans, Fishguard J. James, Esq., Trenewydd
Mr. Perkins, Hendrewen 4TH SER., VOL. XIV.
J. Perkins, Esq., Priskilly Forest Capt. Bowen, Goodwick
J. Harries, Esq., Glanymor, Dinas Rev. Jas. Syminonds, Fishguard Rev. J. Tombs, Burton Rectory Rev. D. Symmonds, Fishguard Rev. T. Mathias, Henry's Mote RecRev. B. Thomas, Letterston
tory Hugh Davies, Esq., Tower Hill
Curator of Museum.
REPORT OF MEETING.
MONDAY, AUGUST 13th. The General Conmittee met at the Temperance Hall at 7.15 P. M., to receive and discuss the Report of the past year. The Rev. E. L. Barnwell objected to one part of it.
At 8 P.M. a public meeting was held. Professor Babington com: menced the proceedings by reading a letter in which the outgoing President, H. R. Sandbach, Esq., of Hafodunos, expressed his regret at being unable to attend the Meeting. He then requested the President-Elect to take the chair.
Mr. C. E. G. Philipps, on assuming the chair, said that in the first place he must thank the members for the honour of having so kindly re-elected him as President. In 1880 they had met in a part of Pembrokeshire where a Welsh-speaking Wales surrounds a very England in language, thought, and tradition. Those who had come that day from Haverfordwest had travelled but a few miles before they had crossed the border-line where this “ England beyond Wales” ceased. And as was the contrast of race and language, so would they find a contrast in the objects which would demand their attention from those in South Pembrokeshire and Castle Martin. They would not be occupied in visiting, day after day, magnificent ruins that told of past days of feudal splendour ; but they would see one great Castle rich in memories of a mighty past, where the lords of Cemmaes held state little less than regal, and not only had the command of, and led their own tenants to war, but likewise presided over courts of civil and criminal jurisdiction. Their visit to the cromlech of Pentre Evan, unequalled in Wales, might, per