« AnteriorContinuar »
embellished with a good deal of stucco and colour, is of the last century, and filled with monuments of the Scourfields of the Moat; it has also a marble altar slab. From its being called the Scourfield Chapel, and being shut off from the nave by iron gates, it is not improbable that the chancel may have been in the north aisle. At present this part of the church is a sort of lumber-room where the disused bells are stored, and in it are the steps by which the Scourfield Vault is entered. The north wall retains one of the small loop windows, and between two of the arches of the nave there is still a niche for an image. The font is similar to that at Spittal, but smaller.
At Castle Henry, or rather Castle Hendre, the church was rebuilt in 1778, but upon the old foundations. It comprises a chancel, nave, and south transept. In the older foundation wall of the transept are the remains of an arch ; and on the south side of the same is inserted a stone ten feet in length, which may have been a Maenhir. Nearly opposite to it is the base of a churchyard cross. The font is a trapezium, supported by a low round pillar. The chalice has the inscription, “Poculum de Eclesie HARRYSMOT", and the date-mark of 1574. On its cover is the same date.
On the return journey the members passed quickly through the Roman station of “ Ad Vicesimum”, and drew up for a short halt at Carp Twrne, a remarkable outcrop of rock, some portions of which appear to have been used for circles and cyttiau, and some for fences. In historic times the place has been famous as the spot on which the three Lords of Cemmaes, Dewisland, and Daugleddau used to meet to decide questions bearing on their mutual jurisdiction, a purpose that meets with its parallel in Bwlch y Tri Arglwyddi, where the Lords of Mawddwy, Cyfeiliog, and Estimaner used to meet for a like object.
At the evening meeting, after Professor Babington had given an account of the day's proceedings, Mr. Edward Laws read a paper on the “Landing of the French at Fishguard in 1797”, which appears in the Journal. The President read the original instructions given by General Hoche to General Tate for his guidance in the conduct of the expedition. Mr. Barnwell added the story of the present Lord Cawdor's grandfather visiting the French prisoners in Porchester Castle, and how some of those who were kept on scanty fare took his horse and eat it, leaving him only the saddle and bridle.
Mr. Barnwell was then called upon by the President to speak on the subject of Cromlechs, with special reference to the grand specimen to be visited the next day at Pentre Evan. After a short discussion as to their use, in which Mr. Robinson, Mr. Laws, Mr. Drinkwater, and Canon D. R. Thomas, joined, the Secretary announced the programme for the morrow.'
WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 15TH. The first halt was made this morning, in a drenching downpour, at the little church of Llanychllwydog. The church has lately been rebuilt, and has a chancel, nave, and south porch, so that we miss the curious features of the older church with its south chapel, the broad passage connecting it with the chancel and the stone altar at its junction with the nave, as it appears in the engraving in the Journal for the year 1865, p. 182. Only two sculptured stones are mentioned in the account given by the Rev. H. Longueville Jones, as “ nearly buried in the growing soil, and commonly said to have reference to the Saint's grave—one of them bearing a cross cut in low relief, and of a design not hitherto observed in Wales." There are, however, three other stones, and the character of the crosses is different in each case. In one, the arms and stem are composed of ribbed lines; in another, the limbs form crosslets ; in a third, they terminate in the T, and the fourth, with this termination, has a circle at its intersection.
At Pontfaen also there have been great changes for the better as compared with its roofless condition in 1859. Here there has been no change in the construction, only a renovation, and the chapel on the north side still remains with its wide passage, giving access to the chancel. In the engraving given by the Rev. H. Longueville Jones in the volume for 1865, p. 179, two stone altars are represented as standing—one against the east wall of the chapel, and the other, as at Llanychllwydog, at its junction with the nave; whilst a third slab is shown standing against the passage wall, wbich he also considers to have been an altar slab. This is of very rough character, and now forms the sill of the entrance door. In the churchyard there are two stones, both of wbich are engraved in the Lapidarium Walliæ, plate lvii, figs. 3 and 4, and in Arch. Camb., vol. vii, 3rd Series, p. 212. The longer one, however, which is there represented as in a leaning position, has completely fallen down, and now lies almost hidden in the grass. It is to be hoped that steps will be taken to re-erect the stone. The other stone does duty as a gate-post at the entrance of the churchyard.
A very pleasant drive along the upper valleys of the Gwaen and the Nevern brought the members to Llwyngwair, where Mr. J. B. Bowen most hospitably entertained them, as he had done twentyfour years before, when the Association met at Cardigan.
The church of Nevern, which has recently been judiciously restored, is cruciform, with short transepts, that on the north forming a vestry; and over that on the south, which has a groined roof, and over the outside buttress a cross, a long, low priest's chamber. There are recesses both north and south of the chancel. The general character of the church is Late Transitional. In the churchyard
is the great cross, which is only surpassed by that at Carew and Maen Achwyfan, near Newmarket, in Flintshire. The height, from the surface of the ground to the top of the shaft, is 10 feet. The shaft is formed of a squared block of stone, the top narrowed obliquely on the west face. The north and south sides are not quite so wide as the east and west faces. The letters of the inscriptions agree with the letters in the Gospels of St. Chad, Mac Regol, Lindisfarne, and in Irish MSS. On the other sides of the shaft is a series of compartments, each containing a differently arranged interlaced ribbon or other patterns. It is described in Professor Westwood's Lapidarium Walliæ, and by the same author in the volume of the Arch. Camb. Journal for 1860, p. 47.
On the old road (now partially cut off by a hedge), on the porth side of the church, is the cross cut in the face of the rock, with a kneeling-place hollowed out below it. This is given from a drawing by Mr. Blight in the Arch. Camb. for 1873, p. 373. This road was on the direct route from Holywell, in Flintshire, and also, as stated, from Strata Florida.
The magnificent cromlech at Pentre Evan, which, when visited by the Association in 1859, admitted three persons on horseback under its capstone, stands on the moorland to the east of Carn Ingli, about six miles from the sea. The capstone, which is 8 feet from the ground, and is poised on three of the uprights, measures, in extreme length, 16 feet 9 inches; in average width about 8 feet; and in thickness, 2 feet 8 inches; its approximate weight is from ten to twelve tons. It has been described by Owen, the Pembrokeshire historian, by Fenton, the late Sir Gardner Wilkinson in the Collectanea of the British Archæological Association, and by Mr. Barnwell.
The church of Newport, well restored in 1880, consists of chancel, nave with wide north and south transepts, and a western tower. In Buck's view of the Castle, the church is represented as having a south aisle both to the nave and chancel; but as the external walls follow the same lines, this must have been a difference in the construction rather than in the ground-plan. Under the tower stands a tombstone of the fourteenth century. A foliated cross with the head alone appears. The inscription reads thus : CES : ANE : GIT : ICI: DEV: DEL : ALME : EIT: MERCIE. The stoup has an ogee arch, the font is a good specimen of the well known Pembrokeshire form.
The Castle was next visited, which, after passing through many vicissitudes, remains still in the possession of a descendant of its founder, William, son of Martin de Tours, who built it at a spot then and still by the Welsh called Trefdraeth. Its owners continued to exercise, as lords of Cemmaes, independent authority until the time of Henry VIII, when such rights were finally abolished, save that Sir Marteine Lloyd still continues to exercise the peculiar privilege of appointing the mayor,-a privilege still reserved to him notwithstanding the recent Unreformed Corporations' Act. Of its destruction we have no historical record; but probably it shared the